Reckless driving is a considered a serious offense in the state of Arizona, and, unlike the average traffic ticket, is actually considered a criminal act. Given its relatively vague name, you may well be wondering what this citation means, and how you can protect yourself from the severe consequences. If you have been charged with reckless driving in Lake Havasu City, odds are that the citation has one of the following court names listed: Lake Havasu City Municipal Court, Lake Havasu City Justice Court, Lake Havasu Consolidated Court or nearby Parker Justice Court.
No attorney, including us can guarantee any outcome, but if you are facing this charge your best option is to contact one of our qualified and experienced Lake Havasu City Reckless Driving lawyers. Our diligent attorneys could help answer your questions, navigate the statute and court proceedings on your behalf, and ensure that you receive the best outcome possible.
What is Reckless Driving?
Arizona Revised Statutes define reckless driving under A.R.S. § 28-693 as operating a vehicle with a reckless disregard for the safety of others and their property. Pretty general right? Some examples include speeding, running red lights or stop signs, tailgating, cutting off drivers, swerving through lanes, etc. If you are stopped for potential reckless driving, it is the officer’s complete discretion whether to charge you, at which point you may either be arrested, or given a ticket with a court date for which you are required to appear.
What are the consequences for Reckless Driving?
There are several facets to what the consequences for a conviction could mean for you, depending on your status as an employee or student and your past criminal record, if any.
Reckless driving is a class 2 misdemeanor, and depending on your existing driving record, you may even be facing a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license upon conviction. However, if you have previously been found guilty of reckless driving, negligent homicide, or manslaughter with a motor vehicle, racing, or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) within 24 months of the date of your conviction, the charge will be promoted to a class 1 misdemeanor, and eligibility for probation, pardon, or suspension of sentence will be revoked until a minimum of 20 days in jail is served. Fortunately, jail sentencing allows for students/employees to attend school/employment for a maximum of 12 hours per day for 5 days a week under the discretion of the court.
There potential consequences for reckless driving are extremely severe, a criminal conviction/record, not to mention the fines or the implications for insurance, insurance, and future job opportunities.
How can I defend myself against a Reckless Driving citation?
Simple answer is we do not recommend defending yourself against a Reckless Driving Charge. The fact is the state/county will have a prosecuting attorney assigned to your case to prosecute you. With an attorney already going against you, why not have one of our experienced reckless driving defense lawyers on your case helping you navigate and work towards the best outcome possible. We can help throughout the court process, including reviewing the available evidence the state has against you such as police footage and reports, witness testimony, and road conditions at the time of the stop. The best way to ensure that you receive the optimal outcome for you and your future is to call the highly reputed Lake Havasu City Reckless Driving Lawyers at The Law Offices of Brandon White today to schedule a free strategy session. We hope to hear from you soon!