city

Serving All Arizona

Online appointments available

Logo icon
Phone icon
Driving under the influence.

Second-Time DUI Attorney in Phoenix, Arizona

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is one of several criminal offenses in Arizona that can be met with progressively harsher penalties for subsequent convictions. Accordingly, if you have been convicted of DUI before, it may be especially important that you seek help from qualified legal counsel if you are accused of this offense again.

While in most cases a second-time DUI in Gilbert is not automatically considered a felony offense, it is still a serious charge that can have significant short and long-term consequences. A knowledgeable defense attorney could ensure you understand your legal options and help you effectively pursue a positive case resolution under these challenging circumstances.

1000+

Cases Completed

Google

Five stars icon

5.0

240 Reviews

What Are The Penalties for a Second Time DUI?

A conviction for a second non-extreme DUI or DWI within seven (7) years from the first conviction, the mandatory minimum penalties are:

  • Jail – At least 90 days in jail-60 days can be suspended only upon completion of the mandatory alcohol screening classes outlined above
  • Fines – A minimum fine and surcharge of approximately $3,500.00 or more
  • License Suspension – the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) will revoke your driving privileges for at least one (1) year
  • Community Service – You may have to serve 30 hours of community service;
  • One (1) year of a mandatory IID being installed in your vehicle after all suspensions are completed at a cost of approximately $1200.

Speaking with an experienced attorney in the area could help you avoid some of the harsh penalties that come with a second DUI offense.

What Happens After a Third DUI Conviction in Gilbert?

If someone has been convicted of more than one DUI offense within a single seven-year period, any subsequent convictions could result in even more devastating consequences than any of their previous offenses. First and foremost, the minimum prison sentence of anyone convicted of a third DUI offense in Gilbert is 120 days, and there is no possibility of probation or suspension of that minimum sentence.

Driving under the influence

Furthermore, applicable fines typically start at around $4,000 up to $150,000 depending on the circumstances, and convicted defendants will be subject to a mandatory minimum one-year license suspension. At the discretion of the judge overseeing the case, convicted parties may also have to attend an alcohol or drug abuse program, fulfill community service requirements, and install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle that would prevent the engine from starting if they are intoxicated.

Seek Help from a Gilbert Attorney with a Second-Offense DUI Charge

Even if you have never been arrested for or convicted of driving under the influence before, it is still a good idea to seek legal representation from an attorney familiar with handling DUI cases. However, if you do have a prior record of driving under the influence, help from qualified legal counsel may be your only chance at avoiding extremely stiff penalties.

Second-time DUIs in Gilbert are not impossible cases to fight, but under no circumstances should you attempt to contest yours alone. Instead, get in touch with our team of reliable attorneys who could help you plan your defense strategy and ensure your rights are protected. Contact our firm today and schedule your case consultation.

Let Us Fight For You

Schedule a Free Case Evaluation
A gavel

CONTACT US

Contact Phoenix DUI Attorneys Today

Fill out the form below to receive a confidential initial consultation

Average response time: 1 business day

FAQ

No items found.