In addition to fines and potential jail time, traffic violations can result in negative marks—or points—on your driving record. The driver point system in Phoenix establishes how many negative marks correlate with certain infractions.
If you accumulate enough points, you could lose your license. If you face this outcome, contact a lawyer familiar with the points system in Phoenix to develop a strategic plan for mitigating any consequences. Our proactive defense attorneys are here to help you.
Accumulating Driver’s License Points
When a motorist in Phoenix pleads guilty to a moving violation or other traffic-related offense, the Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) adds points to their driving record. The more negative marks (points) a person has incurred on their record, the closer they are to losing their driving privileges and facing other negative consequences, such as increased insurance rates.
The number of points a driver accrues depends on their offense. Arizona Administrative Code Rule 17-4-404(A) establishes the number of points charged with each infraction. The following is a sample of citations and the number of marks associated with each offense:
- Moving violations not explicitly addressed – two points
- Speeding – three points
- Leaving the scene of an accident – six points
- Reckless or aggressive driving – eight points
- Driving under the influence (DUI) – eight points
It’s important to remember that depending on the situation, police may issue more than one citation leading to multiple point assessments. For example, if an individual hits a car while driving under the influence and flees the accident scene, they may be issued tickets for both a DUI and a hit and run. In this scenario, the driver would accumulate 14 points on their record, resulting in a license suspension.
Driver’s License Suspension
Arizona Revised Statutes § 28-3306(A)(3) and A.C.C. R.17-404(B) explain that, once a driver in Phoenix reaches eight or more points, the MVD may suspend the person’s license or order that they attend Traffic Survival School (TSS). Failure to complete TSS will result in a six-month license suspension, as A.C.C. R.17-404(D) outlines.
Rule 17-404(E) gives the MVD the power to suspend licenses for excessive point accumulation. Under this Rule, negative marks earned within 12 months lead to the following suspension timeframes:
- Eight to 12 points with TSS completion in the past 24 months – three months
- 13 to 17 points – three months
- 18 to 23 points – six months
If an individual accumulates 24 or more points within 36 months, their license suspension could be 12 months. If you have accumulated negative marks under the driver point system, an experienced attorney could help reduce your suspension time.
Keeping Driver Points to a Minimum in Phoenix
The best way to prevent points is to practice safe driving. However, almost everyone makes the occasional mistake and receive traffic offenses throughout their time on the road.
Once driving points are on a person’s record, they are hard to remove. Still, some Phoenix drivers could avoid additional points following a violation if they attend Defensive Driving School before the court arrives at a conviction. This option only applies to certain infractions, and commercial vehicle operators cannot utilize the program. Eligible drivers may take the class online.
If you have a pending traffic infraction, consider discussing your options for reducing driver points with a knowledgeable Phoenix lawyer.
Call Our Traffic Attorneys about the Driver Point System in Phoenix
Under the driver point system in Phoenix, you can quickly rack up enough points to risk losing your license. Our lawyers, who are familiar with Arizona’s traffic violation laws, could help you understand how points accumulate, what you could do to reduce the amount assessed, and how to respond to traffic tickets to minimize the impact on your daily life. Reach out to our seasoned professionals to review your case. We are waiting for your call.