Are you or someone you care about facing a DUI charge in Phoenix or anywhere in the State of Arizona? If so, you need to know that Arizona has some of the harshest penalties in the nation for drivers convicted of Driving Under the Influence and one of our local defense attorneys should be contacted to ensure rights are protected and to help you navigate this often tricky process.

Our Team of Phoenix DUI Lawyers include a Former State Police Officer and a Former Prosecutor.

What are the Penalties for First Time DUI?

Regular DUI – The penalties for even a first conviction of non-extreme DUI or DWI are:

  • Jail – A maximum of 6 months in Jail with a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail – 9 days can be suspended only upon completion of mandatory attendance at alcohol screening.
  • Classes – You can be sentenced to mandatory classes from Substance Abuse Counseling to Mothers’ Against Drunk Driving (MAAD), just to name a few.
  • Fines – A minimum fine and surcharge between $1500-$2500
  • License Suspension – You can lose your license for either 6 months to 12 months.

In addition, the court now must order one (1) Year of a mandatory IID (Ignition Interlock Device) being attached and installed into your vehicle, which requires you to blow into the device every time you start your car.  You must then continue to blow into the device every 15 minutes to keep your car’s ignition on!

Lastly, if the court chooses, they can order “more than twelve months” of an interlock device in more extreme cases. If you or someone you care about is facing a first time DUI in Phoenix call and schedule a strategy session with one of our experienced attorneys today.

What are the Penalties for a Second Time DUI?

Regular DUI– A conviction for a second non-extreme DUI or DWI within seven (7) years from the first conviction, the mandatory minimum penalties are:

  • Jail – At least 90 days in jail-60 days can be suspended only upon completion of the mandatory alcohol screening classes outlined above
  • Fines – A minimum fine and surcharge of approximately $3,500.00 or more
  • License Suspension – the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) will revoke your driving privileges for at least one (1) year
  • Community Service – You may have to serve 30 hours of community service;
  • One (1) year of a mandatory IID being installed in your vehicle after all suspensions completed at a cost of approximately $1200.

Speaking with an experienced attorney in the area could help you avoid some of the harsh penalties that come with a second DUI offense.

Contact a Phoenix DUI Attorney Right Away

As you can see, getting a DUI in Arizona means serious potential consequences. When someone is charged with a DUI the case is assigned to a prosecuting attorney to prosecute the case, so in turn those being charged with the offense should turn to our Team of Phoenix DUI Lawyers to ensure their rights are protected.

Don’t go it alone – Call Now for a Phoenix DUI Attorney Strategy Session today. No sales pitch, no gimmicks just honest advice meant to help ensure rights are protected.